Color-Changing Animals (Animals with Super Powers)

This very appealing book is part of the Animals with Super Powers series. In this book we learn about eight different animals: the gray tree frog, snowshoe hare, cuttlefish, mimic octopus, golden tortoise beetle, chameleon, seahorse, and goldenrod crab spider. We discover they change colors to look like other animals, to communicate, attract a mate, to startle or confuse an enemy, or just to express their mood. The information is very interesting and presented in a way that is fun. We learn how long it takes an animal to change (a snowshoe hare takes about ten weeks, while the cuttlefish takes less than a second), why that animal has that ability, and how it helps them. The photographs are amazing. The cover was beautiful and I am sure this will be very popular in our library.

Review by Terrie Bishop, Academy Park Elem. School Media Center
Rating: 5 Stars
Interest Level: Grades 2 and Up

Browse this book

Color-Changing Animals
From the Animals with Super Powers series
Written by Valerie Yaw
32 p.
Release Date: January 28, 2011
ISBN: 9781617721229

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

1 thought on “Color-Changing Animals (Animals with Super Powers)”

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top