YALSA Young Adult Nonfiction Award

The YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults is a newly created award given to the best nonfiction book published for young adults (ages 12-18) during a November 1 – October 31 publishing year.  The purposes of the award are to:

* Recognize the best in the field of nonfiction books for young adults
* Promote the growing number of nonfiction books published for young adults
* Inspire wider readership in the genre
* Give recognition to the importance of the genre
* Position YALSA as an authority in the field of nonfiction for young adults


  • Janis Joplin: Rise Up Singing by Ann Angel
  • The Dark Game: True Spy Stories by Paul Janeczko
  • Every Bone Tells a Story: Hominin Discoveries, Deductions, and Debates by Jill Rubalcaba and Peter Robertshaw
  • Spies of Mississippi: The True Story of the Spy Network that Tried to Destroy the Civil Rights Movement by Rick Bowers
  • They Called Themselves the KKK: The Birth of an American Terrorist Group by Susan Campbell Bartoletti


  • Charles and Emma: The Darwins’ Leap of Faith by Deborah Heiligman
  • Almost Astronauts: 13 Women Who Dared to Dreamby Tanya Lee Stone
  • Claudette Colvin: Twice toward Justiceby Phillip Hoose
  • The Great and Only Barnum: The Tremendous, Stupendous Life of Showman P.T. Barnumby Candace Fleming
  • Written in Bone: Buried Lives of Jamestown and Colonial Maryland by Sally M. Walker

Source: http://www.ala.org/ala/mgrps/divs/yalsa/booklistsawards/nonfiction/nonfiction.cfm

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top