The Emerald Atlas

Book 1, The Books of Beginning | A 2013 Beehive Children’s Fiction Nominee

Written by John Stevens

This is the story of Kate, Michael, and Emma. They were orphaned 10 years ago when their parents disappeared. They have gone from one orphange to another until they end up in Cambridge Falls where they begin an adventure back in time due to a magical book. There is adventure, mystery, suspense, and many twists and turns to the plot that keep you reading. I really liked this book.

Review by Vicki Lewellyn, Pleasant Green Elem. Media Center
Rating: ★★★★★ (5 stars)

The Emerald Atlas is a typical young adult fantasy that starts with 3 very young children being “orphaned for their protection”. After 10 years in a series of sub-par orphanages that hardly get a mention they are sent to an island with a mysterious mansion. Kate, Michael and Emma are loving, loyal and normal siblings. They bicker and explore and the story begins to get interesting with magical books, time travel, witches, warlocks, dwarves and monsters. Once I started reading I couldn’t wait to find out what would happen next. Warning: there are 3 books and the author has not written the next two!

Review by Kathleen Milburn, Frost Elem. Technology Specialist
Rating: ★★★★✩ (4 stars)

Book 1, The Books of Beginning
The Emerald Atlas
Written by John Stevens
Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers
432 pages
Release Date: April 5, 2011
ISBN: 9780375868702 (hardcover)

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top