Gathering Darkness (Falling Kingdoms, #3)

Gathering DarknessWritten by Morgan Rhodes

Mytica is a land of magic. Auranos has been conquered by Limeros, and the King of Blood, Gaius Damora, occupies the fallen kingdom in hopes of finding the Kindred, stones of immense magical power. He has forced Princess Cleiona (Cleo) to marry his son and heir, Prince Mangus, and neither of them are happy about it. Cleo’s sole purpose is to regain the throne taken from her family, and while Magnus feigns loyalty to his father, both want the Kindred for their own. His adopted sister, Lucia, is a sorceress learning to control her elemental powers, and may be the one prophesied to reawaken the Kindred. Jonas’ rebel forces have suffered an incapacitating defeat. Just when it looks like all is lost, new alliances rekindle the rebellion. Ashur and Amara, siblings from a neighboring empire, have heard about the Kindred and want the power for their own. Meanwhile, the Watchers, a race of immortals, have their own plans for the Kindred.

This book is equal parts action and magic, with a touch of romance to satisfy a variety of readers. I enjoyed book 3 of the Falling Kingdoms series and look forward to the next (and hopefully last!) book in the series.

Themes to be aware of:

  • There is some violence in the book including a beheading and multiple stabbings. None are described in detail.
  • There are two sexual encounters in the book. Neither is graphic, but it is clear what occurred.

Review by Paul Edmunds, Granite Prevention and Student Placement
Rating: ★★★★½ (4.5 stars)
Interest Level: Grades 9-12

Series Website:

Falling Kingdoms. Book 3, Gathering Darkness
Written by Morgan Rhodes
Razorbill, an imprint of Penguin Group
407 pages
Release Date: December 9, 2014

, , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top