The Collectors, by Jacqueline West

Listen to this book in Granite’s OverDrive Digital Library

The Collectors
Written by Jacqueline West

Van likes to collect odd, forgotten, or broken things. One day he meets Pebble, a girl who collects wishes, with her squirrel companion Barnavelt. Pebble was created from a wish and is now a collector, a person who is only supposed to be seen by other collectors and her wish maker. Van is suddenly tangled up in the war between Collectors and Mr. Falborg as they determine the fate of the Wish Eaters– creatures who make wishes come true by eating wishes. The Collectors believe that all Wish Eaters must be captured, locked up, and starved for the good of the world. On the other hand, Mr. Falborg believes that these creatures should be set free and be fed wishes. an does not know who to believe but must choose a side for his own safety.

This is the first book in a new series and provides a new twist to the concept of making wishes come true. I was disappointed in the lack of character change in Van; he never chooses side to join. The story kept my interest but not enough to continue reading the following books in the series.

Review by LeeAnne Neilson, Hillside Elementary Media Center
Rating: ★★★✩✩ (3 stars)
Interest Level: 4th-6th Grade

The Collectors
Written by Jacqueline West
Greenwillow Books, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
376 pages
Release Date: October 9, 2018
A review copy was provided by the publisher.

, , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top