The Strangers

Greystone Secrets, #1

Written by Margaret Peterson Haddix

The Strangers is the first book in a new series by Margaret Peterson Haddix called Greystone Secrets, written for grades 4-6. It is an intense, action packed, science-fiction based mystery. The story starts out in modern day Ohio with the Greystone family. When the three Greystone children, Chess, Emma, and Finn, hear on the news that three children have been kidnapped in Arizona who have the same first and middle names and birthdates as they do, they wonder if it is more than just a coincidence. Then their mother suddenly goes away on a business trip, leaving them to be taken care of a strange woman and her bratty daughter, Natalie. Odd things begin to happen, and they know they have to figure out the truth behind these strange circumstances by unraveling codes and puzzles left by their mother.

This is a very suspenseful book. It takes about 250 pages before you even have an inkling of what is going on! But Haddix manages to capture your attention the entire time. I am looking forward to reading the rest of this series.

Review by Terrie Bishop, Media Clerk, Academy Park Elementary
Rating: ★★★★½ (4.5 stars)
Interest Level: Grades 4-9

Read or Listen to this book in Sora, Granite’s Digital Library

Author Website:
Discussion Guide

The Strangers
Written by Margaret Peterson Haddix
Katherine Tegen Books, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers
405 pages
Release Date: April 2, 2019
ISBN: 9780062838391
A review copy was provided by the publisher.

, , , , , , , ,

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top