The Secret Commonwealth

The Book of Dust, Volume Two

Written by Philip Pullman

The Secret Commonwealth picks up 20 years after La Belle Sauvage and follows both Lyra Silvertongue and Malcom Polstead as they travel farther into the secret world of dust, daemons, and now, roses. Fans of the original His Dark Materials will find this new trilogy much more adult, and nuanced. Lyra and her daemon Pantalaimon are no longer happy with each other and separate in an act that most would find horrendous. However, the two begin journeys to find what they lost in the Arctic regions and the Realm of the Dead. Malcom continues his work for the secret organization Oakley Street to keep the truth of dust and daemons from being erased. With the time that has passed not everything is as it once was. The organization is crumbling, the church is at the door. Can Malcom, Lyra, and Pantalaimon out run the forces trying to stop them? It’s unclear because this book ends on one doozie of a cliff-hanger! Anxiously awaiting the third book!

Does contain one F-word, and several mentions of sexual activity. Would not recommend for younger than 9th grade.

Reviewed by Amanda Hatton, Library Media Educational Technology Specialist, Bonneville Junior High School
Rating: ★★★★✩ (4 stars)
Interest Level: Grades 9-12

Author Website:

he Book of Dust, Volume Two
The Secret Commonwealth

Written by Philip Pullman
Alfred A. Knopf
633 pages
Release Date: October 3, 2019
ISBN: 9780553510669 
A review copy was provided by the publisher.

, , , , , , ,

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top