The One and Only Ruby

Written by Katherine Applegate

In The One and Only Ruby, Ruby tells her story of how she was orphaned, rescued, and eventually came to live in a zoological park and sanctuary. It has all the endearing characters from the previous books, like Bob, Ivan, and Julia, with many memories of Stella. It is a sweet tale with riddles, platitudes, and life lessons. Ruby learns of gratitude, bravery, and eventually realizes the importance of being part of a tribe. Katherine Applegate writes a wonderful sequel to The One and Only Ivan.

Reviewed by Heidi Reed, Librarian, Oakwood Elementary
Review shared in July 2023
Rating: ★★★★✩ (4 stars)
Interest Level: Grades 3-5

The One and Only Ruby
Written by Katherine Applegate
Harper, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
217 pages
Release Date: May 2, 2023
ISBN: 9780063080089
A review copy was provided by the publisher.

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top